Help us fight spam
Dear friends,
Email spam is a well-known issue for all of us. One of the most disgusting aspects of spamming is sending email from a fake.address@fake.domain
For some unknown reason our domain @cheaperairlineticket.net is used daily by spammers to send messages as if originating from our server.
This is happening entirely without our knowledge and unfortunately we have no way of controlling it.
The only cases we are notified are when the recipient's email server rejected the message and redirected it back to our own email server, where we get it in the "unknown recipients" email box. Here are the headers of an example message:
Return-Path:
Received: (qmail 15549 invoked from network); 7 Nov 2006 01:44:18 -0000
Received: from avirvipdo.versatel.de (HELO avir04do.versatel.local) ([89.245.129.60])
(envelope-sender )
by mail03do.versatel.de (qmail-ldap-1.03) with SMTP
for ; 7 Nov 2006 01:44:18 -0000
Received: from avir04do (localhost.localdomain [127.0.0.1])
by avir04do.versatel.local (Postfix) with ESMTP id 80D2F48C56
for ; Tue, 7 Nov 2006 01:49:06 +0100 (CET)
Received: from mail01do.versatel.de (mail01do.versatel.de [89.245.129.21])
by avir04do.versatel.local (Postfix) with SMTP id 002AA2356B2
for ; Mon, 6 Nov 2006 20:04:10 +0100 (CET)
Of course we do not have a "fzbmst@..." email user. The originating server is avirvipdo.versatel.de with the 89.245.129.60 IP address, whereas the IP of the cheaperairlineticket.net server is 87.120.40.13.
To fight such spam messages please check the original sender by either clicking "View ... All headers" (Outlook) or "View...Message Source" (Thunderbird). The offending IP should be the first one in the Received: path.
Then report the IP - usually you forward the whole message - to the appropriate lists, e.g. SpamCop, www.spamhaus.org
|